Engine Failure

TheLorax

Im a student with around 42 hrs. who flies an r22 beta ii. Almost every day i go over safety procedures for an engine failure. A pre-flight check is performed before every time i fly. The possibility of death lurks closely to all of us.

What are some leading causes of engine failure?

High time ships? Old engines... Bad luck?

There was a poll i saw about how many people have experienced "in-flight emergencies". One of the options was "engine failure".

Any concrete causes that could go unrecognized in pre-flight for both piston and turbine engine helicopters? I just cant help, while flying solo, feeling like my engine will just poop out on me and where i will autorotate to. Trees? Concrete? A neighborhood with power lines strewn across?

Engines are extremely complicated pieces of machinery with hundreds of individual parts that contribute to their "keep on running".

Before soloing i thought "if i die, i die. whatever." but now; KNOWING that i have controls, and knowing that i am the vessel, between myself, gravity, and the ground, that can save my ass........ this is some brave sh*t. I realize im taking my life into my own hands each time i depart our rock.

I'm now speechless

PS: what does IMC and IIMC stand for. that thread made me pale. inadvertent instrument.........

Edited by TheLorax

The leading suspect is fuel. Be it contamination or exhaustion. There will be different mechanical causes for piston ant turbine, obviously.

IMC is Instrument Meteorological Conditions. Not to be confused with IFR, which is the regulations to fly IMC.

IIMC is Inadvertent Instrument Conditions. The leading cause of emergencies in aviation, but one of the least trained for. Except for unusual attitude recovery and even then most don't brief for it.