Medical Training

Hello all,

I am currently a pilot for a regional airline. I have always had a desire to pursue helicopter training and land a job flying in the EMS world. My question is this...I have my paramedic certification, will this inhibit me from being able to enter the industry. I am young, only 23, and probably wouldn't be able to get into the EMS sector until I am at least 30-35, is that enough time to let my paramedic history pass?

Thanks for any help you folks can give!!!!!

Hello all,

I am currently a pilot for a regional airline. I have always had a desire to pursue helicopter training and land a job flying in the EMS world. My question is this...I have my paramedic certification, will this inhibit me from being able to enter the industry. I am young, only 23, and probably wouldn't be able to get into the EMS sector until I am at least 30-35, is that enough time to let my paramedic history pass?

I am a little confused. So, you are a certified paramedic? Meaning then you could go get a job as a paramedic? If I understand that right, then no it won't inhibit you from an EMS job. You are right, it will be a while before you can get an EMS job. As I am sure you know EMS is looking for 2,000-3,000 hours in helicopters for their pilots. They may take you at less with your background but I wouldn't count on it. You could move up faster in the FW side of things and make more money in the end. However, if helicopters is your passion then go for it. Welcome to the forum!!

JD

Hello all,

We've got a few pilots with histories as medics, military and civilian. It's not a factor either way, as long as you're a PILOT and not a pilot/medic. The industry compartmentalizes: I aviate; they medicate- or whatever you call it, period.