Instrument Study Material Recomendations?

Hi I'm a pilot from WA state. I have about 1050 hrs and am currently on a Cherry Drying Contract flying a UH-12E Soloy(old junk but Turbine). I don't think the company will have work for me for the rest of the year so am thinking about getting my instrument and goin to the gulf. I am wondering if there is a good instrument ground course(cds or dvds) that would be recommended for helicopter instrument or just what books I should obtain. I want to spend my contract time wisely because lately I have a lot of time on my hands. Thanks in advance.

Hi I'm a pilot from WA state. I have about 1050 hrs and am currently on a Cherry Drying Contract flying a UH-12E Soloy(old junk but Turbine). I don't think the company will have work for me for the rest of the year so am thinking about getting my instrument and goin to the gulf. I am wondering if there is a good instrument ground course(cds or dvds) that would be recommended for helicopter instrument or just what books I should obtain. I want to spend my contract time wisely because lately I have a lot of time on my hands. Thanks in advance.

You can get by with the FAA books (Instrument Flying Handbook, AIM, and the Rotorcraft Flying Handbook, and their weather books if you need help there). I didn't find the Jeppesen Instrument/Commercial textbook to be worth its cost. There are some books by Skyroamers that the FW guys seem to like, but can't speak for them personally.

Where are you based in WA? The cherry harvest in Eastern WA is starting, which means no more helis hovering by our house.

--chris

I just got finished with a month contract in Mattawa and movin to Chelan for another month

~Chuck