Insurance Subrogation Rights

FNG'54

I am interested in hearing from anyone that has had or has heard of an insurance company suing a student pilot or a lisenced pilot that has rented an aircraft and then inadvertently damaged it. I am NOT talking about a pilot that goes out and flies recklessly and does stupid things.

I am a student pilot that expects to be soloing in the near future. I am training at a small school that provides excellent training but their insurance does not cover anyone but the aircraft owner. Although I do not consider myself particularly wealthy I suspect that I am worth suing. My goal after I obtain my PPL is to rent a helicopter and fly for recreational purposes only. The AOPA is now offering helicopter rental insurance for both liability and a small amount of hull coverage designed to cover an insurance deductable. The estimate I received was $1,200 per year for $1MM liability and $10,000 for hull coverage. I could do a lot of flying with the money I would spend on insurance each year.

X-insurance is a lot cheaper, even the agent I spoke to at AOPA agreed. I think less than half, I had to get it to solo. All the schools near my location suggest it.

http://www.xinsurance.com/index/pilot-liability.html

I wouldn't be flying with that school then.

I agree. Unless, of course, the school's rates reflect the fact that the student has to have their own insurance. Something along the lines of $150ish wet for dual time sounds fair if insurance is not provided.

Sign me up! I'll just have to try really hard to not crash.

I agree. Unless, of course, the school's rates reflect the fact that the student has to have their own insurance. Something along the lines of $150ish wet for dual time sounds fair if insurance is not provided.

X-insurance is a lot cheaper, even the agent I spoke to at AOPA agreed. I think less than half, I had to get it to solo. All the schools near my location suggest it.

http://www.xinsuranc...-liability.html