Hopefully some one here is both a Helicopter and Airplane CFI and can answer this question.

I'm a Commercial Pilot - Rotorcraft Helicopter and a Glider Pilot. In my spare time (weather days) I've been taking some instruction in a PA-18 SuperCub. After 7 hours my CFI thinks I'm almost ready for the flight test. 320 Glider and 800 Helicopter hours had positive transfer I guess.

So now it's a formality of getting the minimum hours logged to do the test. The FAR's aren't very clear on this. Part 61.63 Additional aircraft ratings, makes sense. Part 61.109 Aeronautical experience (a) For an airplane single-engine rating, is fuzzy about adding on.

It's clear I have to do 10 hours solo in a single engine airplane (apparently a glider is not an airplane) with 5 hours x-country, etc... (i) (ii) (iii)

It says I need at least 40 hours of flight time that includes 20 hours of flight training from an instructor. It doesn't say that needs to be in an airplane. It does specify 3 hours dual x-country, 3 hours dual night, 3 hours dual instrument, and 3 hours practical test prep within 60 days of the test all in a single-engine airplane. This totals 12 SEL hours.

With the 10 SEL solo and 12 SEL dual am I good to go? I'm hoping for 22 hours.

Interested to hear how others interpret this reverse add-on.

PS I didn't try the airplane prank!

Edited by Whistlerpilot

WP, you or your CFI should contact the FAA Inspector or DPE that will test you for the rating and have them tell you what is acceptable. They will be the person looking thru your log books to verify everything. There will be no problems this way! Best to you, Mike

• Like 1

I'd also check if you're doing commercial SEL, that whether or not you'd need complex time for the add-on. Not positive on how that works for going from Rotor/glider to Airplane ratings, I know that if you get MEL first in complex, you don't need complex for SEL.

Hey Rotorhead 8500 good luck on the checkride. Let us know how it goes.