New here- training questions

Hello everybody,

I've been browsing around the forum for a while now but I just joined as a member. seems like a great way to talk to people already involved in the helicopter world.

Anyways, a little background to my situation, I am a sophomore in college, I have private pilot ASEL with an instrument rating. I did an into flight in a helicopter almost a year ago and since I have been keenly interested in switching. Where I live, there are two flight schools that I could practically go to- one is kind of a "mom and pop" deal, smaller school, part 61, that offers training through CFII. The nice thing about this school is that its about 30 minutes away from where I live. The other is a part 141 flight school, about twice as far-making it much more impractical. I have visited both. The 141 school seems to hire most of their previous students (note I am not assuming guaranteed employment through this school, just a thought).

I guess my question is how hard is it to land that first CFI job? In the fixed wing world it doesn't seem to difficult for a well-adjusted and proficient CFI but I have read a few threads on here about CFIIs not being able to find work. Should I go to the flight school that offers a higher possibility of employment post-CFII, despite the fact that it is much more inconvenient between now and my CFII ticket? The fact that it's over an hour away means that with my work schedule, I probably won't be able to get there as often so the training might take me a bit longer.

Thanks for your input everybody

I did an into flight in a helicopter almost a year ago and since I have been keenly interested in switching.

Welcome to helicopters. They're much more fun than airplanes.

The 141 school seems to hire most of their previous students