National Guard Warrant Progress

Hey all,

Since I've been lurking on this forum for a while I thought I'd add a post from the NG perspective (they seem to be few and far between).

I am currently a member of the Maryland ARNG as an E-4 Cav Scout (19D). To start off the process for National Guard Warrant selection is way different than the USAREC process. I actually made the mistake of trying to create a packet based off USAREC for the guard. The Guard process is slightly different.

A little about myself, I'm a former Marine (5 yrs total) where I held a TS clearance guarding embassies. I currently work as an agent with Homeland Security in the DC area. I'm 28 now and that seems to be my biggest hurdle since the aviation unit near Aberdeen wants applicants to finish training by age 30. I have 91 credits toward my undergrad in intelligence studies (online) with a 2.9 GPA, not the greatest but working full time and going to school really gets rough.

Anyway, I just submitted my packet to the unit last week and it was reviewed with what seems like positive feedback. They told me that they would call me within the next month for a board interview by the State Aviation Officer. Apparently we have one slot and I'm competing against an OCS guy and another E-4.

Does anyone have any info or advice on the National Guard process? Sorry if I seem like I'm rambling here.

• Like 2

Well I don't have much to inquire about/ suggest regarding the guard side, but I can completely relate to your college comment. I'm taking classes online full time as well as workin full time, and I'm aroun a 3.0 as well. You said Intel Studies; that's what my degree is in. American Military University?

Best of luck with your packet submission. Just keep at it no matter what happens.