The Agusta Accident in NYC

And yet another helicopter accident occured in New York City which has everyone playing Expert Crash Investigator On The Internet. So many posters on the Original Forum are demonstrating what utter toolbags they can be. So many. I read the posts and shake my head at how these supposedly intelligent people (helicopter pilots) can be so stupid.

I grew up in New York City. It is where I learned to fly. Yes, I literally learned to fly in and out of the four heliports on Manhattan Island. There used to be four; now there's only three. One was virtually under the 59th Street (Queensboro) Bridge. My first flying jobs were in NYC. Initially I was a tour/charter pilot for a company whose NYC base was at the E34th Street Heliport, and then I did traffic reporting in an Enstrom 280C out of a heliport on the Hackensack River in New Jersey - talk about a horrible place to get in and out of when it was foggy! I did all of these things in weather in which some of you would never even consider going flying.

Okay, so those are my qualifications.

I do not know what caused the A109 to crash into that building. However I feel safe to say that it was *not* IIMC. It may have been a personal, physiological problem, or it may have been a mechanical. But it was not a weather-related accident.