Wanting to Change Career

I am 37 and I am really interested in changing careers. I have always wanted to be a pilot but never took the plunge. I am currently a Sales Account Manager for a Major Computer Company - I have been in the industry for 15 years, ever since college. Is is feasible to become a commercial helicoptor pilot (preffered) or comercial airplane pilot as a career at 37? It would be hard for me to leave a pretty good size salary because of my expenses unless I dipped into my 401K....To be happy and have a successful career then it is worth it to me....any thoughts or suggestions? I have been on helicoptor tours and on smaller plane trips and can not think of anything else I would rather do, but I have absolutely zero experience and would have to start from the ground up. Should I quit my job and go full throttle or should i try to get my private license while working, then quit when getting my commercial license?

I'm currently 29 and have been in IT for about 10 years now. I was going to go the fixed wing route years ago, right out of school actually, but the career options didn't suit me and the IT industry was booming at the time. About 8 months ago I decided that I had enough of cube life and not flying and decided to go chopper. I'm still working full time and doing my training in an attempt to pay off some bills and build up a cushion for my tour as a CFI.

I'm pretty sure that no one here can answer your question for you. Expect a substantial pay cut, at least initially if not perpetually, and the strain of having to travel/move for work. Realize your career as a pilot can end as soon as you can't pass a medical. Be aware that any moment of inattention can take your life and the lives of any passengers you may have.