1 ring =Audio Hi.

2 ring = Mic Hi.

3 ring =audio Lo.

In some cases mic is reversed______________

2 sites with numerous plug descriptions

http://www.mobileone.com.au/headset/plugs.htm

www.flyingshop.com/acrobat/Connectors.pdf

:ph34r:

It makes no difference. Both mic and speakers, each have two wires, and you can connect either wire in either position and it works, as long as you don't mix them. I've been making my own headsets for >20 years, and have never bothered with which mic or speaker wire goes where, and never had a problem. A multimeter is essential, though, for insuring proper connections with no shorts. With many cables it's very easy to get one of the hair-thin wires sticking out and shorting to another connector, so you have to make sure of the connections after they're made.

Edited by Gomer Pylot

gomerpilot

How do you get electret microphones to work? as they are polarity concious.

I can understand with dynamic microphone.

Custom ear moulds arrived for the Mach 1 head set will report in next week or so

I've been using electret mics for 20 years, and have never seen any indication that they know or care about polarity. Most headsets, especially David Clarks, have a cord from the mic that plugs into a jack, with the prongs side by side, and you can plug them in either way, 50/50 chance of getting it the same any time, and I've never seen a problem. I haven't used a dynamic mic in many years.

Gomerpilot

Never found one that works with incorrect polarity, have never found one with no FET amp built in, strange, I presumed that aircraft microphones used phantom power.

Many types of microphones require power to operate, as a general rule these types are described as condenser microphones. The power is used for internal pre-amplifiers and polarizing microphone capsules. If internal batteries are to be avoided then the only solution is to supply the power via the microphone signal cable.