Starting A Career

snikad

When I first made my account here I made a post asking for advice on commercial helicopter flight as a career and most of the responses I found to be kind of negative. It kind of discouraged me, mostly I feel like there is strong unity in the industry with the experienced, but they seem resistant to welcome newcomers. Yes I am 21, but I don’t have this idea of working for a year and then making 200k a year and only working 3 months a year. I don’t log on very often, but I try to stay current reading and I tend to see a lot of negative feedback towards people who come on here looking for input, advice, and inspiration.

I graduated high school took some time off to do some liberal arts at college and get to know myself, and it has only reassured me that this is a career that I feel passion for and will enjoy. I know it wont be all good times, but what career is? Times are hard for everyone at some point or another it comes down to quality of life. (I may be Canadian but we still get CNN and I get to hear Lou Dobbs go on every night about the war on the middle class.) I will be a lot happier in that atmosphere then working at a desk making myself miserable. Everything takes hard work, but if you are happy it’s a lot easier to get there.

You can give all the realistic (negative) feedback you like, but it won’t detour me from pursuing my dream. I am young I can make mistakes and still bounce back. I do appreciate that you want us newcomers to the harsh reality of the profession, just try to remember that a lot of people coming on here do so to hear some positive along with the negative! Whenever someone starts just about anything there are excited about it and have dreams and there is nothing wrong with that.