Gross Weight

TimW68

I am a private pilot and have a couple of questions with reguards to a comment I heard in passing. How often are ships required to take off from the platforms (rigs) at gross weight, I mean is this a very common thing? The comment i heard was that on occasion ships had to skid along (on the pad) to get ETL, due to WX/weight, is this true and if so has anyone heard of any inadvertant tail strikes due to misjudgement?

Taking off at max gross weight is very common. But if you can't hover, then you aren't going to take off. Back when piston powered ships were in use, it was fairly common to drop off the side, but we're well past that. You may not be able to do much of a climb, but you have to be able to hover and get off without immediately losing altitude. The usual technique is to hover at the edge of the pad, with the blades over the water, and hold a very stable hover. Eventually you'll get enough updraft to start a takeoff, and you just go up and out, perhaps losing altitude as you accelerate. If you can't hold an absolutely stable hover, moving nothing at all for a minute or so, then you may not be successful. If you're moving the controls around you'll lose lift every time you move them. If you can't get the lift to come up, then you reduce the load, one way or another.

Agreed. If you can't hover IGE, don't try a take off! I don't even think there is enough room to do a running take off and to be able to get ETL on a platform. I know there wasn't from the platforms I flew from anyway.

There are times you may loose a little altitude but in general just take it nice and slow and easy. Don't be abrupt on the controls. As GOMER said the more you are moving them the more lift you are diverting away. Remember, if it's hot out and your have a high PA your density altitude will be high. Consult your aircraft performace charts before flying.