Should I build a chopper while taking lessons?

evictor

Hi, I'm new here so little bit about myself first. I'm a computer programmer by trade, I race dirt bikes, and I love building things. OK that's enough. :P

I've recently been fantasizing about taking helicopter flight lessons -- something I always wanted to do as a kid but until now haven't had the money. After some quick Googling, I came upon RotorWay kits (~$100k) and did some research on that.

The RotorWay ones sound OK and it would be good to hear your opinions on that brand or others in general. What I'm really wondering though is do you think it's a good idea to get a kit and begin building while simultaneously taking lessons? Is it a good idea to build your own chopper at all, especially as a noob?

The idea of building this big spectacular flying machine in my garage makes me drool but I have no experience in aviation and no helicopter pilot friends to talk to (I know a few pilots but no one with chopper experience).

• Like 1

First off, I like 'choppers' even though they're strongly identified with anti-social biker gangs. I'd rather ride a classically configured Norton, but whatever floats yer boat.

To the point- you can't know too much about the mechanical part of the machine, it will give you real insight into what you're pre-flighting, flying, and at times- hanging your life on. If you have the personality to do it right (I don't) and the resources to do both, then I think building your own flying machine is a brilliant idea. The pilots I know who have done so built really beautiful aircraft.

• Like 1

Have fun build, fly, learn, build, train, fly, train, build, train.....did I mention train?

So training, learning, asking questions, and network with some good A&P guys that might enjoy a cold beer and bbq at your hanger once in a while!

• Like 1