I am an instrument rated pilot with a commercial rotorcraft license. I recently switched to a new school to pursue my CFI and CFII. They gave me a checklist of topics that my lesson plans should cover, and one of those listed is something called "blade sailing". I have never heard this term in my two years of flight school, and neither has the Helicopter Flying Handbook. Google searches have led me to plenty of academic studies on the phenomenon, but nothing from a pilot or training source. I understand the basic idea, which is that at low RPM and in high winds, rotor blades can flap excessively and harm either the aircraft or ground personnel. Am I missing anything here, or would this be sufficient information to give a potential student? Thank you for any help you can give!

That pretty much sums it up. In the GOM, the starter was located on the cyclic in the 206's so you could "fly" the blades on start up. Had a very anxious moment in a 407 one time. The blades looked like they dropped several feet over the nose. I never heard of a Bell striking the tail but I do remember it happening to an Astar.

Edited by helonorth

21 minutes ago, adam32 said:

There's a few videos on youtube of guys holding onto 205/214 blades on startup to prevent it from happening...

There were a few different techniques they played with in the days of the bigger, two bladed Bells. One was to use a broom to keep them drooping too much. I also heard of leaving the rotor brake on until the N1 got up a ways. 

Most aircraft will have a limit on winds for startup. It is generally best to start with the wind fairly close to the nose - and turbines don't like it up the backside either.