Started Flight school..have an issue

So I am a flight student finally. :D And I am having some problems because I am a little on the short side. 5'3" to be exact. To reach to pedals, i had to use a back pillow thing. But that puts the cyclic at an odd position on my lap and makes it uncomfortable to control. My arm is still cramping and i only flew .8 hours today. I cant rest my hand on my leg with the position the cyclic is in and still have control over it. Maybe its just something I am not accustomed to and may get used to over time, but I was just wondering if anyone had some pointers on this.

Other than that though things are amazing! Feeling somewhat overwhelmed with information overload and constantly worried if I am doing well. And its only the second day. The perfectionist in me is coming out. Everything still feels very awkward of course and I am hoping that it won't after too long.

Thats it for now! Thanks to anyone who has any advice for a newbie

When you start out....everyone sucks at flying. Id suggest some hangar flying.....just sit in it and move around.

Ditto-you get used to it, also many of the birds have adjustable pedals....just not the R22. The R44, Bell 47, and a bunch of others have pedals that adjust and will help you be more comfortable. Being small and light in a helicopter is not a terrible problem to have....consider the alternative...I'm 6 foot 5 inches, 240 pounds and still fly the R22 around !

Heck you can probably solo at idle ! Lots of extra power available which equals safety on a high hot and humid day.

Congrats on getting started with your training.

One of the female pilots I fly with is small, about 5'4''. I don't know how she does it, but her feet aren't on the floor when flying, only on the pedals, I guess she has just gotten used to it. She does have this arm rest that she rigged up to lay her right arm on. Must work, cause she's a darn good pilot. If you would like to talk with her PM me and I'll get you the info.