Possible Boatpix Aircraft Crashes into Lake Travis-Austin, Tx

"Witnesses say the helicopter was flying really low and skimming the water"

What is it they teach...there are no new causes for accidents, just the same ol mistakes?

Edited by Goldy

"Witnesses say the helicopter was flying really low and skimming the water"

What is it they teach...there are no new causes for accidents, just the same ol mistakes?

Goldy...people on the lake related that "the pilot mis-judged his turn and the tail struck the water and the helicopter flipped" Can someone from boatpix chime in...how low do you guys fly to get these pictures ? I'm assuming you would have a pretty powerful lens so you don't have to fly so low...but i'm just an amateur when it comes to photography....

Ryan

Goldy...people on the lake related that "the pilot mis-judged his turn and the tail struck the water and the helicopter flipped" Can someone from boatpix chime in...how low do you guys fly to get these pictures ? I'm assuming you would have a pretty powerful lens so you don't have to fly so low...but i'm just an amateur when it comes to photography....

Ryan

A powerful lens makes no difference if you are trying to see the side of the boat, or want/need a low angle shot. I would imagine the photographer wanted to get low to get a shot of the boat with the cliffs in the background. 'Tis a shot I would want if I were taking boat pics on Lake Travis.

Goldy...people on the lake related that "the pilot mis-judged his turn and the tail struck the water and the helicopter flipped"

Ryan

I'm sorry. I usually don't pre-judge an accident, I just wait for the ol NTSB. However witnesses say that he was flying 4 feet over the water just before the accident. Flying 50 feet is dangerous and irresponsible and in my opinion, illegal.....IF he was flying 4 feet that would be a deathwish.

I am glad that no one on the ground(water) or in the ship was hurt.