2 replies to this topic

#1 INDOMITABLE

INDOMITABLE

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 June 2019 - 08:42

Hello, 

I have been browsing these forums for the last couple of days, and I must say there is most certainly a ton of helpful information on here. Unfortunately I still have not found the answers to the questions I am looking for, as I am pretty new to this process. Currently I am building my packet and getting ready to take the SIFT in a few weeks. I transferred to the Army National Guard about a year ago from the Air Force (I was a F-35 crew chief), and now I work at Lockheed Martin. I am applying for a slot in the AZ NG unit right near my house to be a 153A. 

How are the guard slots billeted and distributed? I assume I am not competing with Active since its at the unit level, but after I submit my package and hopefully get passed the first board, what does the rest of the process look like after the first board? In the selection packet it states after selection in the AZARNG Flt Board you have to board again for Federal Recognition, can anyone elaborate more on this?  Are the guard slots more competitive? What was the turn around time to getting to WOCS and Flight School?

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I will keep updating this as more questions come up.

#2 mike0331

mike0331

VR Veteran Poster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 500 posts
  • Interests:Freedom & 'Merica
  • Company working for:USMC Infantry, Lawyer(ish)

Posted 24 June 2019 - 21:00

A lot will depend on your state. You need to get in touch with AZ's warrant officer strength manager. The WOSM will be able to reach out to the aviation board and/or state aviation officer to find out exactly what is needed for a WOFT packet if they don't already know. State requirements prior to allowing you to board may vary a little bit, so it important you hear directly from the AZ WOSM what you need.