Helicopter flying in the rain

I am new to helicopters. I fly fixed wing in the rain without much problem. I usually reduce the propeller speed to reduce erosion. Taxiing is troublsome as I have no wipers. At about 60 knots the canopy clears and the rain only reduces visibility slightly.

I have only two flights during my helicopter training when rain was encountered. One time was just light misting that lasted only a few minutes. My instructor told me that helicopters fly in the rain. The second time I was practicing at the north helipad. The wind was gusting and reversing. The helicopter canopy became very opaque during hover phase. The rain became rather intense. The visibility dropped to about 1/2 mile. My instructor did not like this and we air taxiied back to the hangar.

How much rain is ok for a R22? Will rain remove all of the paint on the rotor leading edge? What are the other risks of flying a helicopter in the rain?

The biggest concern is the descending tail-rotor blade. The ascending blade hits the blunt end of the rain drop, but the descending blade hits the pointy end which is much more damaging. :)

I had students that basically thought the helicopter would "Melt" if we flew it in the rain. Their fixed-wing instructors had it drilled into their heads that any rain is very bad and you should not fly in it. "You should definitely avoid flying helicopters in the rain" is what I was hearing a lot.

Light-medium rain is okay, but heavy I would avoid. Also heavy rain usually means a bad storm and you probably should not be flying anyway.

the descending blade hits the pointy end which is much more damaging. :)

interesting, i never knew that rain drops had a pointy side.

I have flown 300's in heavy rain for over an hour at a time & it leterrally rips the paint off of the T/R blades & doesn't do much good for the paint on the mains either. Remember to grease everything as soon as possible after flying in the rain too.