Using Pedals in an AUTO?

hooked4life

So I'm studying for Commercial right now and one of the FAA questions I'm having trouble understanding is this:

Using left pedal to assist a left turn during an autorotative descent will probably cause the rotor RPM to?

and the correct answer given in the ASA test bank is:

increase and the aircraft nose to pitch down.

the explanation they give for this is:

Use of antitorque pedals to assist or speed the turn causes loss of airspeed and downward pitching of the nose, especially when the left pedal is used.

Where does the increase in RPM come in? I thought that using left pedal in an auto would DECREASE RPM...I was under the impression that you're kind of robbing inertia from the Main rotor to power the tail rotor when you use left pedal with out the engine driving the rotors.

I don't really understand the whole concept and was hoping that someone could clarify what exactly is going on in this situation.

It would depend on how much left pedal you use. If you only use a small amount you are reducing the amount of negative pitch that are on the tail rotor blades needed to offset the torque produced by the in the transmission which is in the opposite to the torque produced by the engine during powered flight and much smaller.

If you put in a lot of left pedal you would be going past the "zero thrust produced" point on the tail rotor and will start producing thrust in the direction needed for powered flight. That will then cause a reduction in rotor RPM during the auto.

The last time I was down at Robinson the instructor had me put in full left pedal during our last auto. The helicopter turned completely sideways, and shortened the glide pretty good. I had my door off, so watching the runway numbers rush straight up at me :o was a little un-nerving, but wicked cool! :D

• 1 month later...