How does a previous B.S. affect financing?

Hello all,

I'm in my late 20's with a previous Bachelor's Degree in an unrelated field. I have 6 years of experience in my current line of work and am currently employed, but do not earn enough to leave money left over for flight training even after minimizing expenses (sold house, selling car, cut any extraneous spending and already work a second job). I have a cosigner (significant other) available with good credit if necessary. The Army flight physical stopped me from joining the military (medical history that has since gone away), but I can pass an FAA physical with flying colors. My significant other and I are willing and able to relocate to anywhere necessary for training and subsequent jobs for the foreseeable future. An EMS position would be the end goal many years from now.

Also, my education, experience and current line of work is in design and marketing. The thought crossed my mind that I may be able to offer my expertise to the school I choose to train and hopefully work with as a CFI.

My main question is in regard to how my B.S. affects eligibility for student loans. May I receive federal or private student loans for an Associate's degree to fund my ratings? I attempted contacting SLM but the rep was less than helpful.

(This post was edited to slim down the info to just the essentials as not to waste anyone's time.)

Edited by CrashC

Good luck. I'm not gonna be the one to rain on your parade. It sounds like you've definitely got the drive to succeed. It's really hard out there right now in any career field. Doubly so in aviation. One of the reasons I'm getting out of the professional side while I still can. You can take my place.

Seriously. Good luck.

Thanks for the responses (and the PMs). I welcome any advice, good or bad.