S333

Any insight into these machines? Seem more popular in the EU than they are here stateside. Anyone owned or operated one? Reasons to buy or not to buy? I'm looking for a light, cost effective turbine and a 66 is off the list. My all time fav is a 500 but back seat pax hate them. I had to figure that they are not very popular for a reason, but I have never heard anything either way.

I worked on a few of them when I worked for Sikorsky Aircraft at the old Schweizer factory in Horseheads, NY. They had minimal issues, and we were selling a fleet of them to the Saudi MOI to use as flight trainers for their pilots. Roomy cockpit, but no back seats. While I never got to fly in one, they were easy to work on. Beyond that, I have no other experience with them. I'm not sure if its out yet, but Sikorsky was turning the 333 into a 434, basically 4 main blades, on a 333, with a little more power. Not sure where they are at with that, as it was still in flight test in our hangar when I left that job to begin my flight training in AZ.

Edited by superstallion6113

Great training aircraft. It's ugly in my opinion and I would lean towards Robinson or Eurocopter products (if it was a personal/pleasure aircraft) for reliable support and parts. Parts and support for the 333 has been an ongoing issue with schweizer and even worse now with Sikorsky (especially support). They finally got a 434 (four blade model) for the MOI. The 333 is pretty much owned by the Saudi government as far as fleet numbers. There are some in Mexico and a few domestic law enforcement agencies are using them. I think San Antonio and another in Florida (west palm beach maybe?). Overall it's a strong little machine and forgiving in flight. It's like a S300 on steroids with a Bell 206 B3 engine essentially. Very simple and plain aircraft.

Edited by HeliFun