Different strategy for a foreigner? / Hillsboro

I have recently researched the possibilities of taking my CPL in the US, as a mature flight student.

I am from Europe, and I quickly figured that my only way to ever make significant hours is a F1 visa. This limits my choice of schools severely. Leading edge looks like my kind of place, but no F1 visa > no work permit > means I will return home with zero experience.

It pretty much boils down to Hillsboro, although I did read about problems there. However, I do feel that as a foreigner, I need a different strategy than Americans or people with unlimited work permit.

1. Anybody know of the situation at Hillsboro today? Some call it a pilot factory - is that for the airline FW program or the rotor section as well?

2. I am an on-the-job instructor in my current job which is also very procedure-based but not aviation. I also speak 2 languages that might be helpful as quite a few people from those countries go to Hillsboro. I also calculate taking my IR and CFI right away. Would this package improve my chances of getting a CFI slot or is it in fact a gamble, and in the end all kinds of people get lucky at HB - or don´t?

3. Any other jobs that my profile might suit well?

From your experience, which strategy would you advise to foreigners, both training- and job-wise? What kind of opportunities are worth pursuing, what would be off limits and therefore waste of time? I figure some stuff like logging is too special for an outsider to just get into because you will need to know the right people locally, which is impossible for a foreigner.

Any thoughts?

I have a real good friend from Germany that went to HIllsboro, PM me and I may be able to put you in contact with him.