First scary experience; has it shaken me, or my chopper?

Jomas

I am a private pilot in Italy and own an R22 beta I,I here, we fly them as "ultralights" and have no real radio contact with ACT. I must consider myself to be very new to flying, my experience is just 100 hours in the R22 with a test of two other helicopters. However I am an extremely calm and focused person, but the other day I got seriously rattled.

It was a sunny day and I had a few hours to spare so I decided to fly out to the seaside for a look around. It is a 20 - 25 minute flight and I had 7-8kt winds at my departure, with some mountains raising to 3000ft between home base and the beach.

On the way out over the mountains I noticed I had a 15-20 knot tailwind, which didn't bother me any, and I have flown in much worse conditions.

After taking in some coastline I decided head back. As I started back toward the mountains I found that conditions had changed and the wind had worsened, noting a 25-35 knot difference between my KIAS and the ground speed indicated on the GPS, and that the helicopter was struggling to make ground against it.

So I started looking for a different route across the mountains, but each time I reached a critical point, where things got too rough and the machine wasn't giving me the confidence I needed to continue. This went on for around 40 minutes.

At one point while fighting my way up a valley the whole helicopter began to vibrate in a way I have not experienced before and really thought I may have a real problem on my hands, so I turned back, honestly scared and landed at one of the many hobby airstrips in Tuscany. Once I got the wind behind me it was better, and once I got away from the foothills it was also ok, but I was shaken, and everything felt off.

The following day I went back, flying out in a gyrocopter with a friend and flew the helicopter home, but it still seemed to feel a little off.