New school getting VA approved in San Deigo CA.... Worried....

So a school in California just partnered with a school in Las Vegas. Its 100% VA approved, so you know the whole gimmick. Here is the thing, I live in California and this school would make sense for me. I have been researching schools for a few months now (Since May 2013) and I know what to kind of look for and what seems odd.

Here is the problem, they will only be training in a R44 and 300c I believe (R44 for sure) When I asked about having no R22 and how it would limit MY job perspective he said it was crap and would like to talk who said that. ( I believe flying pig said this but I can not confirm this)

Anyways what are your opinions?

Was planning on going starting in January, but decided better against it and to just go to a community college for 2 years and get my associates then when everything is worked out with a different school in California called Civic Helicopters, go to that one. But would still like your opinions

Thank you J

Flying Pig isn't the only one who said it. I promise you that.

You need to look at what other schools are instructing their students in. Therein lies your answer.

Really, though, if you've been doing the research, you already know the answer....

Heck, there's even regulatory information that will back it up. SFAR 73...

To instruct in an R44 you need to be endorsed and have...

-200 hrs total helicopter time

-and 50 hours in the R44 (25 of which may be substituted with R22 time)

To instruct in an R22 you need to be endorsed and have...

-200 hours total helicopter time

-and 50 hours R22 time

If you don't get those 50 hours of R22 time during your training... well... no R22 instructing job for you.

Im still do not understanding the whole hours thing, I guess I still need to research more.

total helicopter time, is that in both 22 and 44 or is that just say 44 then get 50 in 22 I can fly/instruct in both?