Liability for signing off students?

Hey guys I'm a new CFI. I've yet to sign anyone off for Solo etc. It seems that my past CFI's and my fellow co-workers are worried about signing off students and having them ball up a helo. My question is what is the real liability? What could happen to the CFI if a solo student makes an error and has an accident? I have never seen anything in the FARAIM regarding this. I've heard the "your on my ticket for 3 years" but never seen any documentation to back that up. Of course I want to make sure my students are prepared prior to solo but I don’t want to hold them back longer then needed for the fear that it could come back to haunt me.

**for this discussion please assume adequate instruction was given by the CFI

thanks!

ChprPlt, make sure that you have a record of teaching your student all of the part 61 req's for solo. As an Experienced Instructor, I always had one of my peers give a student a pre-solo check ride! Do your job correctly, judge your students ability and move them forward. We all accept a lot of moral responsibilities that you may have to answer to in Court down the road. Be thorough and professional and let them fly! Mike

Thanks Mike! I keep really good records on each lesson covered: what they did well and what they needed improvement on. My company also has a pre-solo check usually done with the cheif CFI. I figure if the cheif CFI agrees there ready for solo I should be covered.

Edited by ChprPlt