nervous newbie

jeepguy

Hello everybody,

I'm a nervous newbie that is playing with the idea of going to helicopter flight school. I was recently discharged from the US ARMY (Iraq Veteran, Infantry Gunner) and i'm trying to find a career path.

In a nutshell, I've pretty much got a free ride from Private Pilot-CFII for either rotor or fixed wing (courtesy of VA and Govt.) I'm also getting about $700 a month for Disability. I'm married and have 2 daughters both toddlers. I would like for nothing more than to be a helicopter pilot but after reading posts like this

( http://helicopterforum.verticalreference.c...1245&st=20)

it really makes me wonder if this is a wise decision. Is it really that hard to get a job as a pilot? I mean, really, whats a guy normally do after finishing CFII w/ 200hrs and doesn't land that big CFI job right away. How many companies hire people with 200hrs vs how many graduate every month or so. Am I missing something? It seems like slim pickings.

Any advice for the newbie would greatly help.

Or...am i seeing things the wrong way, typical of a newbie. lol :D

JG, I hate to throw water on your dream, but since you are getting disability, you might want to take the medical exam first and see if you qualify. One of the questions asked on the medical exam is if you medically discharged. While it is still possible to get the medical, it MAY require waivers and impose limitations on your medical. Personally I would do that before spending any money on flight training.

Good luck and Thank you.

Jeepster:

No one hires a 200 hour Commercial Instrument pilot, except as a CFI. You may have a rich uncle or aunt that can hire you to fly their aircraft, but that is out of the question for 135 operators because of insurance minimums. You will find that the insurance companies have more to say about who hires whom than does the FAA.