First post with a question for mechanics

First off i'd like to say what i nice a website this is and all the info on here.

A little about myself.

I live in Las vegas NV and about 4 years ago I started training in a schweizer 300c through AirWork LLC, but couldn't go on after 8hr of flight do to cost. So I saved up for the next two years and earned my PPL in a cessna 172, and I took my first BFR the begining of the year.

I really want to fly helicopters for a living but what i have learned is it's a hard life to get where I want to be, and I can't go Military do to medical.

I also didn't want to get a loan and be 60k+ in debt and not be able to pay it off for a long time.

So what I have decided to do is go to Georgia Northwestern Technical College and take their two year A&P program, this way I have a backup job still and aviation. My plan as of now after school is to try to be a heli mechanic for some company and later take flight lessons.

My question.

After I earn my A&P cert would it be best to go to Robinson helicoper or Bell helicopters(maybe both) and go through their factory training corse? Because all the Jobs offered i've seen is that you need to be factory trained. Would this be a good idea or can i get a heli mechanic job with out factory training?

Thank you all for your advise and for taking the time to read this long post. :D

• Like 2