Robinson Safety Course December

• 2 weeks later...

I still remember and tell the story of my trip to my students, sure you'll learn some great things, see the factory floor and make some great friends, but the flight is the best part. Sea level, instructors with thousands of hours experience, and a rich and fun learning environment without the stress of being judged or trying to trying to impress the instructor.

When I flew, I had the fortune of flying with a pilot from Scotland (I wish I could remember his name) who had such a positive attitude and loved flying so much that his enthusiasm was contagious. It was a great experience and I was excited to do it. I attended and flew in the late summer of 2009 when I was a newly minted private pilot. It was a beautiful clear sunny day in the 80s and everyone was excited to fly. At my flight school we utilized the newer Beta II so I was shocked to see cloth seats, a primer and an analog clock rather than digital. We went up and over to Compton Airport. I remembered the Good Year blimp was floating around and my instructor told me in his Scottish accent that they do their blimp training in the area.

Having never been to Southern California, and only knowing Compton from overhearing my older brothers gangster rap music when I was younger, I was a bit nervous and surprised to even hear the words "Compton Airport". He showed me some great approaches, we did some running landings and we were having a fun time. On the next pattern he told me "Let's do an auto." I felt excited! I had recently proved to an examiner my ability to do a straight in autorotation, and I knew that I was going to blow his socks off. I had done all my autos up until this point at 5000 DA from training in Idaho during the summer. I expected a long glide, judged accordingly and I was ready to wow this guy.