Brand New CFIs?

Technically, as a cfii you can teach private, instrument, commercial cfii, bfr and ipc (cfi requires more experience). I'd suggest cfii student being easy first student- low risk and you are fresh on the subject area, but reality is, depending on your flight school and student load, any of the above. I've heard of first students being a bfr with more hours than the instructor along with zero hours students, commercial, the lot.

You have a preference/fear?

When I first started instructing, the school I worked for had me flying introductory flights exclusively for the first 6 months or so. It was a great way to familiarize myself with the local airspace/procedures, build confidence/airmanship skills and to continue learning from more experienced instructors.

After the initial break-in period, I was assigned a couple of more advanced students (private add-ons, commercial students, etc). About a year after being hired I started training initial student pilots and inherited about 8 additional students from a more experienced CFI who moved on to fly tours.

I feel very fortunate to have progressed this way; the school was located near a very large city and we had a constant flow of 'bucket list' intro flights as well as people interested in pursuing a license.

Unfortunately, not all schools have the inflow of students to 'break in' new CFI's this way...

Regardless of who you are or where you trained, you will be in over your head as a new CFI. The unfortunate result is inadequate training for students and incidents/accidents stemming from inexperience on the instructor's part.

The best advice I can give to a new instructor is to seek advice in person from more experienced instructors. There are literally hundreds of tips-and-tricks, 'there I was moments', and epiphanies that can be passed forward to keep you safe and give your students the best training possible.

• Like 1

So what type of students do they usually give to new CFIs?