Army Helicopter Pilot, R22/44 Piston Transition (LOL) w/ Post-9/11 GI Bill

Hey everyone,

I am a UH-60 warrant officer with the Army and have been unable to find an answer to my question, so maybe some fellow military aviators or civilian CFIs can point me in the right direction.

Is there a VA approved course that would allow me to receive the minimum hours to be allowed to instruct in an R22 or R44? 200 hours in a helicopter is an easy check-the-block, but 50 hours in Robinson helicopters is not. I was planning on using my Post 9/11 GI Bill to get my CFI/CFII this year, but obviously the hours provided in the block of instruction would be short of the time required to teach. There is a local flight school that is willing to take me on to instruct on the side when I'm off duty, but I need to obviously meet the Robinson minimums.

I realize there's probably nothing out there that matches the profile of what I'm seeking, but maybe some of you have experience in doing what I'm trying to accomplish and would be willing to share.

Thanks!

Z

Part 141 Flight Instructor = 25 flight hours, Part 141 Instrument Flight Instructor = 15 flight hours.

25 + 15 = 40 hours paid for by GI Bill.

That leaves 10 hours for you to pay for. 10 hours times R22 rental = small drop in a huge bucket compared to what others have spent.

Also, that's only if you hit the minimums. Plus, if the school wants you to teach then investing 10 hours in you should be a no brainer. The tour company I worked for gave me 10 hours of 44 time.

Part 141 Flight Instructor = 25 flight hours, Part 141 Instrument Flight Instructor = 15 flight hours.

25 + 15 = 40 hours paid for by GI Bill.

That leaves 10 hours for you to pay for. 10 hours times R22 rental = small drop in a huge bucket compared to what others have spent.

Since SFAR 73 requires 10 hours in the 22 to be PIC, could the school just call those left over 10 an "R22 transition", and thus have the GI Bill pay for the whole 50?