Help with learning weather (Noob here)

PondJumper

What's up guys? I am working my way through Private Pilot, and have my first stage check in about a week. I have been told to expect a lot of questions on weather. I have spent a bit of the day looking over aviationweather.gov, and clearly see that I have much to learn about reading Sigmets, Airmets, TARs, etc.

It is a boat load of info to retain. I want to go through my first stage looking more like a hero than a zero. So, my question is does anyone know of any training software (possibly interactive) that can keep learning this stuff from being so painful? Did you guys just suck it up and memorize it the hard way? Any links, or tips would be awesome.

Thanks

Reading TAFs and Metars isn't really as bad as it looks. A lot of the abreviations can be reasoned through, like BKN, OVC, -RA, TS, PROB40 (broken, overcast, light rain, thunderstorms, 40% probability) if you really look at them they're not that difficult. Some others like BR (mist) you'll need to memorize, but just transcribe a bunch and you'll get the hang of it.

I never actually memorized the Sigmets and Airmets. I figured I would never be reading a weather report while flying so why bother(I have them on my kneeboard just in case though), and on the ground checking weather I see no reason why I can't just pull out my "decoder" if I find myself stumped on something.

You want to impress your CFI on this first stage check show him that you can competantly call for a briefing,...another thing that just takes practice!

In addition to studying the source pubs, the Air Safety Institute at AOPA has a few interactive courses that might help you with some "prac app" of what you've learned in the books. http://www.aopa.org/asf/

(FWIW, I've never been a member of AOPA - they just have some good resources for pilots.)

Keep pressing with your training. The juice is very, very much worth the squeeze.

Flash Cards! I find them very interactive and efficient.