Quitting Time

Over on the "bad" JH forum some guy posted a question about how do we know when to hang it up? It's a question we old-timers end up asking ourselves eventually. I've been at this for 30+ years now. (I started learning to fly in 1973, so I guess 40 years if you count the ones before I was doing it for money).

My last job was flying a 206 for a rich guy in Alabama who used it 50/50 business/pleasure. We did a *LOT* of off-airport stuff, both day and night. Always heavy (when is a 206B *not* heavy?) No goggles, wouldn't spring for them. Although he wasn't a pilot himself (his brother is), he knew enough about aviation to know that what we were doing was risky. Very risky, sometimes. But he trusted my talent and was counting on my experience to not let us get in "too deep." But we did come close at time or two...or three. Good Lord, did we.

Over time I started to get a "feeling." I cannot explain it. I was not comfortable flying the helicopter anymore. Even on a "milk run" on a CAVU day I'd find myself feeling uneasy as I flew along. Again, nothing specific, just a general feeling of malaise. I started playing the "what if?" game obsessively. I figured/hoped things would get better, but they only got worse. Each flight became more and more tense.

And so I quit. Told the Boss I did not want his job anymore, and left it at that. Didn't want to seem like a coward. That was back in April of 2011. The helicopter still flies...has not crashed...with someone else in the seat. I'm just glad it's not me.