CFI checkride tomorrow

Well, the day has finally come. My date with the DPE is tomorrow at 8am. I've been working on my lesson plans for about six months now while working 40 hours a week at a gun store/range down here, and its been a heck of a journey. I'm not exactly a ball of nerves yet, but I'm not exactly relaxed either.

It's funny... every other checkride I've ever had, I've had checkride-itis in a major way. I think the reason I don't is just because I've worked so hard for so long that I really don't see failure as a viable possibility. I know I don't know everything, but I definitely feel I'm at or above the level expected of a fresh CFI....

...but then again, I could totally bust tomorrow on something I forgot to even think about! :P

• Like 2

CFI checkride is probably the easiest of them all. The DPE (even the FAA) don't expect you to be the perfect instructor. They really want to see that you put the effort in. As my FAA examiner told me "I'm giving you a license to continue learning." And that is exactly what you will do over the next 1000 hours or so. Good luck!

When I did mine, the DPE asked me to find the word "mastery or all-inclusive knowledge" anywhere in the PTS. I told him I already knew it wasnt in there. He said, "Exactly. The issue I see with many applicants is that they believe a CFI has to know everything. And one of the biggests hazards I see in new CFIs is that they think they need to know everything." He went on to say competence yes, mastery of all subject areas, Not hardly.

• Like 1

Well, I passed. The oral was somewhere in the six hour range, which is about what I expected. And you guys are absolutely right... it wasn't about knowing everything and being able to recite infinite sets of tedium on command. It was more about knowing how to think about a situation and come up with the right solution. I think a good 90 minutes to two hours was just talking about scenarios, both during the FOI portion and the endorsements.