Priced too high???

mtn_hunter

So I'm currently going back to school for my degree and stumbled across a company here in town that offers flight instruction. They are a great company with a spectacular reputation in the "touring" dept. I read over their info in regards to flight training and here is what I saw that caught my eye...

Part 135 operator

Fly the R44 Raven II

$480 per flight hour.

Now I'm still new to the price tag of things for rotor wing training but this seems like it may be a bit steep doesn't it? Also...does the part 135 option matter that much as well? TIA for any advice or info anyone can shed some light to me on this.

• Like 1

That is very low in regards to nation wide pricing for an R-44. If you take your training in an R-22 you can get that in the $260 hr area pretty easily.

• Like 1

I don't think it's "low"... average for training on an R44 I'd say. It's low for Part 135 in an R44. I wouldn't charge less then $800 for one doing charter or utility type work.

Edited by adam32
  • Like 1

$580 for a Raven I at my old flight school... Soooo glad I trained in 300's before they switched over. Otherwise I flat out wouldn't be a pilot right now. I know good guys sitting on $120,000 in debt. Ouch. Good luck!

$580 for a Raven I at my old flight school... Soooo glad I trained in 300's before they switched over. Otherwise I flat out wouldn't be a pilot right now. I know good guys sitting on $120,000 in debt. Ouch. Good luck!

Man, avaition really shocked me when I started learning about it as a career. A person spends $50-100k in order to secure a job that pays $18-30k a year.

• 2 weeks later...

Man, avaition really shocked me when I started learning about it as a career. A person spends $50-100k in order to secure a job that pays $18-30k a year.

For some, it is not really about the money but passion and love of flying.

For some, it is not really about the money but passion and love of flying.