No Hope...No Need..

This past May I graduated college top of my class. I never really wanted to go to college nor did I really enjoy it, but it was something I was told that I had to do. I was told it would lead to a better life and a better job, but in reality, like many others, I am working the same job i've been working in since I graduated High School. With not as much as a peep from job applications I contemplated going back for my Masters. But about a month ago my current boss, a really smart guy, asked me what I always wanted to do in life. I told him I always wanted to fly and be a pilot. He said to me, then why are you standing here, go fly.

Three weeks ago my life long dream (like many others life long dreams) came true. I took off in a R22 helicopter for my first demo flight. It was one of the greatest experiences that I have every experienced and I couldn't wait to go back up.

Now I am only a few hours in to my flight training and i'm enjoying every second of it. My instructors are awesome and I truly enjoy flying a helicopter. Nothing makes me happier now. Yet the percieved path to becoming a helicopter pilot seems to be a daunting and nearly impossible one;

First, the seemingly very long and very expensive 200 hours to become a CFI appear to be light years away. Then once I get there it seems that getting a job as a CFI is a myth or some type of fairy tale because everone talks like it never happens. Then after I don't get a job as a CFI I need to rack up atleast 1500 hours if a entry level job will even look at my application. Then there is endless talks on forums and websites about the hopelessness of getting a job as a pilot. So even after my 1500 hours, which people make it seem will be impossible to get, I still won't be able to find a job in the market. So here I am in NJ in the present, only 3 weeks in, struggling to get a hour or two of flight time a week because of all the crazy snow storms.