Help finding a school.....

Hello,

I’m looking into heli training and was wondering if anyone has anything to say about these schools. I’ve seen some older post about them but was looking for something more recent. How important is it to train in the mountains? Much appreciative on any advice. I’m very new to this word and really just wont to make the best informed choice on this investment.

1. Quantum Helicopters (AZ)
  2. Silverhawk aviation (ID)
  3. Red Eagle helicopters (MT)
  4. Montana Aero Inc
  5. Colorado Heli Ops

Any other recommendations?, I'm wanting to stay west of Texas if possible.

• Like 1

Are you looking for a 141 school because you are planning on using the GI bill to help pay for it?

1. Never heard of Quantum, it looks like you'll get mountainous time there but not high altitude time since they're in Arizona. They fly the R22 and R44. Seems like an OK school, They offer a turbine transition in the R66 which is funny (do a search in the forums to read what people think about turbine transitions, most of us agree it's a crock and nobody should ever pay for it.) It would be a good idea to find out how many of their students get hired on by the school once they graduate. If they don't hire their students on, be very careful, you don't want to be job hunting with 200 hours of experience in this economy.

2. I've visited Silverhawk in Caldwell ID on several occasions and they're always really nice, they have clean offices and conduct themselves professionally and fly the R22 and the R44. It seems like they have a good size fleet and you won't have to wait for flights. Cons: They accept the GI bill and have a good graduation rate, the result is you may have to wait a long time for a job as a CFI or they may not offer you one at all. Do your research talk with the school or former students and ask them to be honest and tell you what chances you have at becoming an instructor at their school when you're done and if so how long you may have to wait.