Pilot Training and Financial Options

Hey guys,

I am new to this forum, but I have worked in the aviation field since 2008 (between military and civilian). I currently work for a helicopter company as a Flight Planner, so I have SOME knowledge of the rotary wing world. I really want to get away from the desk and behind the controls, but as you all are very aware of, it's expensive and time consuming. I'm 33 years old and have a family, so spare time and money are very limited.

My company does not currently offer any type of training/crossover programs, so I was wondering if there were any companies out there that hired people into a training capacity with an agreement of future service.

If that is not something anyone here has heard of, then what are some viable options for someone in my position?

Just as a side note; I live in the Florida Panhandle and work abroad on a 6 week on/6 week off schedule.

Thank you guys in advance for the advice,

Chris Jennings

Hire someone into a training capacity with an agreement of future service? I've only heard of one such place. I'm not sure just how hard it is to get in, but someone said their helicopters come with guns!

Save your pennies, or take out a loan. Get your ratings. Look for a teaching job. Not much else to it.

Edited by eagle5

Run as fast as you can from the idea of becoming a professional pilot. I know this can seem like soul crushing advice, but unless you are independently wealthy (which it sounds like you are not) it doesn't pencil out financially to borrow 100,000.00 US dollars to be able to get in line to take a swing at the opportunity of become a professional helicopter pilot. Yes people do borrow that kind of money and they are fools. Most that complete civilian training are former military and on the government dole (taxpayer funded).

Edited by Carpenter