My first solo! R44 Raven II

LOVING flight school and flying helicopters! Had my first solo flight as a helo pilot today, in a Robinson R44 Raven II! I'm a full time student in my first semester at Guidance Aviation in Prescott, AZ. At 22 hrs right now. Got 8 hrs to burn for the rest of the semester. On to cross country flights now! Flying to Scottsdale next week, night VFR!

First solo hover.

a6934c4e-fabc-619e.jpg

Coming in to land.

a6934c4e-facd-cec6.jpg

Low quality video clip of my first solo take off. Taken with an iPhone 4 so the lens speed isn't enough to catch the blades that great.

• Like 4

Good job on the solo...I am looking into going to guidance...Are you going to the college they paired with for your degree as well???

Yep, I'm in the Professional Helicopter Pilot AAS program at Yavapai College. GI Bill paying for it all.

That's cool! First solo in the R44? Nice. Mine was in the R22. Also, it looks like a cool area. I took off on a runway, looks like you have a helipad?

Yeah I'm in the all R44 program. I won't fly the 22 in the program I'm in, just the 44 and some R66 hrs in my commercial semester. It's a great area! 5100 ft elevation, mountains, great scenery, but very windy at times in the late winter/early spring. Guidance does their training in off airport training areas, this one with three helipads, and it's got mountains on two sides, and the training area is in the corner of those two mountains. I think I've flown the pattern at the airport twice in my 24 flight hrs. My solo requirements for the program are 1 hr of off airport solo and 1 hr of solo at the airport in the pattern.

Edited by superstallion6113

No R22 - my guess is density altitude. I live on the Front Range of Colorado and I don't know of any flight school here that fly R-22s. Most people fly Schweitzer S300s and R44s. Our field elevations run 5,000' (Denver/Ft. Collins) to almost 6,200' (Colorado Springs).